So, I was sitting here being bored, and I thought to myself, "I'm not doing anything, and I always keep telling myself to keep up on my blog, especially since I tell people that I will. So, why don't go post something." And here I am typing away. My usual excuse I would give for not keeping updated is that I never know what I should write....at least when I am sitting in front of my computer. But I found when my mind wonders, like when I'm driving in the car or sitting outside, I think of lots of cool things that could be good things to write. I decided to keep a little note book with me all the time, so whenever I get ideas or things I need to do, then I won't forget. So I will have much more to write now-a-days.
Now for the story. Last spring break was an eventful one. I hadn't been to the optometrist or the dentist for a while, so I planned to get everything done that I needed during spring break when I had time. I received glorious news when I went to the dentist, not one cavity. My mouth was clean and healthy. It was a great appointment. I was pretty pleased with myself, mostly because college students need all the money they can get, and I didn't have much, so I definitely couldn't pay the dentist. So, with my good news, I headed out in my car, listening to some great tunes on the radio. However, as I was driving, I was surprised when I looked into my review mirror to see a motorcycle cop with his lights on. I pulled over. I guessed in my mind that it had to be because I was speeding. I tend to go over the limit by 5, but sometimes I forget to pay attention and go a little faster.
I figured if I cooperated he would give me a warning since I had a perfect driving record. But then I realized, he can't look up my record, he's on a motorcycle, they don't have computers on those. Great, there was no way that I was getting off the hook easily. And he was a man, so I wasn't going to get off that way either. Well, I ended up getting my first ticket for going 13 over the limit.
I'm not mad about it, I deserved it, I was speeding. The thing was was I had to ask my mom for money to pay it off. And that got me thinking. Why do they call it a ticket? When you think about the word "ticket", you usually have to pay for it, yeah that makes sense, but I think of something else as well. What comes to mind when you hear, "I got us some tickets"? Probably that you are going somewhere, right. The movies, the zoo, a concert, Disneyland maybe. Getting a ticket is usually something fun. So then why give someone a ticket when they speed or run a red light. I think that it ruins the fun connotation usually associated with tickets. We should call them speeding slips. That makes more sense. Think about it, pink slips are for terminating someones employment and I got white slips when I got in trouble in elementary school. Slips are bad, tickets are not. So go and spread the word, "Speeding Slips"
No comments:
Post a Comment